“I think I still have salt in my ear!”

This statement was made by three swimmers, twenty-four hours after experiencing The Great Salt Lake. It is something I have always wanted to do. I think it takes an out-of-towner to get you off your butt and see the world around you.

It is such a wild sensation to put your arms in the air and float on the surface. The lakes name is exactly on point. No more then a couple minutes out of the water and we all had a visible coating of salt. Which we all decided to make good use of later that night at the bar doing Tequila shots. You know just lick your own arm or your neighbors and take your shot! No no I kid, we promptly rinsed in the showers provided. The shrimp in the water are so tiny! They look like little sea monsters.

The day was absolutely beautiful. We continued on down the road on Antelope Island to the historic Garr Ranch. It was really neat to see all the old blacksmith equipment and hear the history of the ranch.

 

 

Last but not least of the days sight seeing was this little guy.
A very rare (according to the bird watchers who showed us where he was) miniature owl. He was probably only 5-6 inches tall. Unfortunately I left my telephoto lens in the car, next time. Yes there will be a next time, I had such a fun time with my wife and father-in-law. I look forward to the next time I get to float in The Great Salt Lake.

Thanks for looking!

This entry was posted in intro and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “I think I still have salt in my ear!”

  1. Heather says:

    How fun! Love the photos, especially the one of Emily on the rock. Can’t wait to see you guys next week!

Leave a Reply

